top of page

Be Your Own Astrologer, Part 1: Your Sun Sign is Your Lesson

Astrology can be a complicated matter, with all those houses, signs, and aspects. Often, people need astrologers who have dedicated significant amounts of time studying the art of astrology to decode the secrets of their stars. It’s easy to become overwhelmed by all that information when there’s so much information to juggle in a birth chart! However, there is a simple way to extract useful guidance for yourself that will allow you to be your own astrologer without much prior study.

In this series, we’ll uncover some major themes and lessons in your life and all you will need to know is your sun sign. As long as you know your sun sign, you can uncover:

1. The lesson that your soul has come to learn

2. The obstacles you need to overcome to learn those lessons

3. The support that’s available to you to learn your soul’s lesson

So what are you here to learn in this lifetime? The answer, like so many things in our lives, lies in our chart, and this one is very simple: It’s your sun sign. Our sun sign is our sense of who we are, and our lives are often spent living up to that sense of identity. Therefore, whatever a sun sign is known for is the lesson that those born under those signs are here to learn. We are learning to be our sun sign.

Most people interpret their sun sign as a description of their core personality, and they internalize the sign’s strengths and weaknesses as their own. Some Geminis will say, “I get bored easily because I’m a Gemini!” and some Aries will say, “I’m loud and stand up for myself because I’m an Aries!” As your own astrologer, now tweak those sentences to instead say “my lesson this lifetime is to learn Gemini curiosity” or “my lesson this lifetime is to learn Aries courage.” This means that your soul wasn’t incarnated as a Gemini because you were such a paragon of Gemini traits, but, rather, that you needed to learn to master them. You either need to tone it down or turn it up. To an astrologer, whatever sticks out—for good or ill—is a sign of imbalance, and the goal of this life is to achieve balance.

Here's a quick cheat sheet of the lessons for each sign:

Aries: To learn courage.

Taurus: To learn security.

Gemini: To learn curiosity.

Cancer: To learn nurturing and safety.

Leo: To be noticed and learn authority.

Virgo: To serve.

Libra: To learn harmony and peace.

Scorpio: To learn to trust.

Sagittarius: To seek wisdom from experience.

Aquarius: To learn to be true to themselves.

Pisces: To learn to let it all go.

There is an ambitiousness to be learned by the fire signs (Aries, Leo, Sagittarius), a steadiness to be learned by earth signs (Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn), and an emotional awareness to be learned by water signs (Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces). Air signs (Gemini, Libra, Aquarius), on the other hand, are learning to master their intellect.

If we consider the possibility that our planet is the testing ground where we come to put our lessons into action, then our signs are our current lessons. So, next time, instead of saying that you exhibit a certain trait because you’re a certain sign, consider the idea that you exhibit that trait because you’re here to learn the lesson of that sign! For example, instead of just believing that you tend to be suspicious because you’re a Scorpio, try saying that you’re learning to trust because you’re learning Scorpionic lessons. It just might change your perspective!

Stay tuned for part 2, where you'll learn to identify your challenges and obstacles with one easy technique!

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page